Knight of Angels – Home Page

Latest Site Updates:

I’m taking a brief hiatus.  Click here for details.

 

Notes to Readers:

As of November 12, 2017, star ratings will not apply.  See this post for details.

Knight of Angels (.com) has officially joined the fight for Net Neutrality.  You can too!  Click below to learn more:

Internet Defense League

Fight For the Future

 

This site is ad-free.  It will remain ad-free.  I’m not looking for marketing of any kind.  This is a hobby, not a business.

 

Site Awards:

 

Currently in the Reading Queue:

annotated-shakespeare music-in-the-renaissance

 

My Upcoming Events Calendar:

2018

Tues., April 3 – John Cleese Live on Stage + Monty Python and the Holy Grail

Sat., April 7 – Mon., May 28 – Scarborough Renaissance Festival

Sat., April 14 – DSO – Beethoven 2
NICHOLAS MCGEGAN CONDUCTS
BEATRICE RANA PIANO
HAYDN Symphony No. 83, “The Hen”
PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No. 3
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 2

Sun., Aug. 12 – Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Love Never Dies

Sat., Oct. 13 – DSO – Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 3
RUTH REINHARDT CONDUCTS
DAVID FRAY PIANO
HINDEMITH Concert Music for Strings and Brass
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 3
BEETHOVEN King Stephen Overture
KODÁLY Háry János Suite

Sat., Oct. 20 – DSO – Pictures at an Exhibition
GIANCARLO GUERRERO CONDUCTS
LEONIDAS KAVAKOS VIOLIN
MUSSORGSKY Night on Bald Mountain
SHOSTAKOVICH Violin Concerto No. 1
MUSSORGSKY-RAVEL Pictures at an Exhibition

Sat., Nov. 3 – DSO – Copland Appalachian Spring
DAVID ZINMAN CONDUCTS
JONATHAN BISS PIANO
COPLAND Appalachian Spring Suite
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 2
ELGAR Enigma Variations

Sun., Nov. 25 – DSO – Tchaikovsky – Nutcracker and Sleeping Beauty
ANDREW GRAMS CONDUCTS
ANDREW VON OEYEN PIANO
TCHAIKOVSKY Sleeping Beauty Selections
GRIEG Piano Concerto
TCHAIKOVSKY The Nutcracker Selections

Sun., Dec. 2 – DSO – A John Williams Christmas
LAWRENCE LOH CONDUCTS
CHILDREN’S CHORUS OF GREATER DALLAS | Cynthia Nott & Terrie Preskitt-Brown DIRECTORS

Mon., Dec. 10 – DSO – Big Brassy Christmas & Organ Extravaganza
LAWRENCE LOH CONDUCTS

Sat., Dec. 22 – DSO – Star Wars: A New Hope (Movie in Concert)
JAYCE OGREN CONDUCTS

 

2019

Thurs., Jan. 10 – DSO – Mahler The Song of the Earth
DONALD RUNNICLES CONDUCTS
KELLEY O’CONNOR MEZZO-SOPRANO
RUSSELL THOMAS TENOR
MOZART Symphony No. 38, “Prague”
MAHLER The Song of the Earth (Das Lied von der Erde)

Sat., Jan. 19 – DSO – Dvořák’s New World Symphony
KRZYSZTOF URBAŃSKI CONDUCTS
JAN LISIECKI PIANO
KILAR Orawa
CHOPIN Piano Concerto No. 2
DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”

Sat., Mar. 9 – DSO – Pines of Rome
JURAJ VALČUHA CONDUCTS
STEFAN JACKIW VIOLIN
R. STRAUSS Don Juan
MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto
RESPIGHI Fountains of Rome (Fontane di Roma)
RESPIGHI Pines of Rome (Pini di Roma)

Fri. Mar. 15 – DSO – Mahler’s Titan Symphony
JAAP VAN ZWEDEN CONDUCTS
LOUIS LORTIE PIANO
SCHUMANN Piano Concerto
MAHLER Symphony No. 1, “Titan”

Sun. Mar. 24 – DSO – Bolero
LIONEL BRINGUIER CONDUCTS
HÉLÈNE GRIMAUD PIANO
BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1
RAVEL Valses nobles et sentimentales
RAVEL La Valse
RAVEL Boléro

Sat., Apr. 13 – DSO – 1812 Overture
JAMES GAFFIGAN CONDUCTS
YEFIM BRONFMAN PIANO
MANÉ GALOYAN SOPRANO
SERGEY SKOROKHODOV TENOR
ANDREI BONDARENKO BARITONE
DALLAS SYMPHONY CHORUS | Joshua Habermann DIRECTOR
RACHMANINOFF The Bells (Kolokola)
LISZT Piano Concerto No. 2
TCHAIKOVSKY 1812 Overture

Sun., Apr. 28 – DSO – Stravinsky The Firebird
DAVID ROBERTSON CONDUCTS
ORLI SHAHAM PIANO
STRAVINSKY Fireworks
BERNSTEIN Symphony No. 2, “Age of Anxiety”
STRAVINSKY The Firebird (Complete)

Fri., May 10 – DSO – Beethoven Symphony No. 4
KARINA CANELLAKIS CONDUCTS
DANIEL MÜLLER-SCHOTT CELLO
ELGAR Sursum Corda
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 4
SCHUMANN Cello Concerto
ELGAR In the South (Alassio)

Sun., May 19 – DSO – Symphonie Fantastique
PABLO HERAS-CASADO CONDUCTS
RENAUD CAPUÇON VIOLIN
BRAHMS Violin Concerto
BERLIOZ Symphonie fantastique

 

Angel-Tartan-Coat-of-Arms6-lg