The Game is Afoot!

While Sherlock Holmes in his myriad incarnations remains part of the Modern Age Myths blog project, this series is about the original adventures as chronicled by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  The reviews here represent my part of a buddy read with my friend BrokenTune, who previously joined me for Ian Fleming’s original James Bond novels.   You can find her reviews all around at her blog site.  As we did with 007, we’re taking our time with this rather than burning through them in rapid succession.

For this project, I am using both my trusty Barnes and Noble leatherbound print edition of The Complete Sherlock Holmes as well as The Definitive Audio Collection as narrated and performed by Stephen Fry, which includes his own commentaries.


A Study in Scarlet (1887)


The Sign of the Four (1890)


The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Published 31 October 1892; contains 12 stories published in The Strand between July 1891 and June 1892 with original illustrations by Sidney Paget.

A Scandal in Bohemia
The Red-Headed League
A Case of Identity
The Boscombe Valley Mystery
The Five Orange Pips
The Man with the Twisted Lip
The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle
The Adventure of the Speckled Band
The Adventure of the Engineer’s Thumb
The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor
The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet
The Adventure of the Copper Beeches


The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

Contains 12 stories published in The Strand as further episodes of the Adventures between December 1892 and December 1893 with original illustrations by Sidney Paget. (After the magazine publication Conan Doyle included “The Adventure of the Cardboard Box” in His Last Bow only, in American editions.  Most British editions keep this story in its proper spot.)

The Adventure of Silver Blaze
The Adventure of the Cardboard Box
The Adventure of the Yellow Face
The Adventure of the Stockbroker’s Clerk
The Adventure of the Gloria Scott” (Holmes’s first case, described to Watson)
The Adventure of the Musgrave Ritual” (another early case, told by Holmes to Watson)
The Adventure of the Reigate Squire
“The Adventure of the Crooked Man”
“The Adventure of the Resident Patient”
“The Adventure of the Greek Interpreter” (Mycroft appears for the first time)
“The Adventure of the Naval Treaty”
“The Adventure of the Final Problem” (Watson reports the death of Holmes)


The Hound of the Baskervilles (serialised 1901–1902 in The Strand)


The Return of Sherlock Holmes

Contains 13 stories published in The Strand between October 1903 and December 1904 with original illustrations by Sidney Paget.

“The Adventure of the Empty House” (the return of Holmes)
“The Adventure of the Norwood Builder”
“The Adventure of the Dancing Men”
“The Adventure of the Solitary Cyclist”
“The Adventure of the Priory School”
“The Adventure of Black Peter”
“The Adventure of Charles Augustus Milverton”
“The Adventure of the Six Napoleons”
“The Adventure of the Three Students”
“The Adventure of the Golden Pince-Nez”
“The Adventure of the Missing Three-Quarter”
“The Adventure of the Abbey Grange”
“The Adventure of the Second Stain”


His Last Bow

Contains 7 stories published 1908–1917. (American editions have 8 stories, including “The Adventure of the Cardboard Box” in this collection instead of in The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes.)

“The Adventure of Wisteria Lodge” (originally published simply as “A Reminiscence of Mr Sherlock Holmes,” this story is made up of two parts given separate titles: “The Singular Experience of Mr. John Scott Eccles” and “The Tiger of San Pedro”)
“The Adventure of the Red Circle”
“The Adventure of the Bruce-Partington Plans” (Mycroft appears)
“The Adventure of the Dying Detective”
“The Disappearance of Lady Frances Carfax”
“The Adventure of the Devil’s Foot”
“His Last Bow” (told in third-person)


The Valley of Fear (serialised 1914–1915)


The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes

Contains 12 stories published 1921–1927.

“The Adventure of the Mazarin Stone” (told in third-person)
“The Problem of Thor Bridge”
“The Adventure of the Creeping Man”
“The Adventure of the Sussex Vampire”
“The Adventure of the Three Garridebs”
“The Adventure of the Illustrious Client”
“The Adventure of the Three Gables”
“The Adventure of the Blanched Soldier” (narrated by Holmes; Watson does not appear)
“The Adventure of the Lion’s Mane” (narrated by Holmes; Watson does not appear)
“The Adventure of the Retired Colourman”
“The Adventure of the Veiled Lodger”
“The Adventure of Shoscombe Old Place”